Eta Iota Chapter of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. was chartered April 10, 1942 under the direction of the late Dr. F. Rivers Barnwell, District Representative with 18 members present.  The chapter had been represented at all National and District meetings.

The Chapter sponsored YMCA basketball teams; gave Christmas parties and donated clothes to the underprivileged children; held an annual picnic and sweetheart dance; paid YMCA memberships for underprivileged boys and girls; supported and donated to the YMCA, YWCA, Urban League and NAACP (lifetime membership since 1963); hosted food and blood drives; and gave to the United Negro College Fund.  On 4 occasions, the Chapter was host to the Ninth District meeting and has hosted several national officers of the Fraternity.

Eta Iota Chapter was instrumental in starting undergraduate chapters at the University of Oklahoma (Pi Delta) and the University of Central Oklahoma (Sigma Kappa).

The chapter consists of doctors, lawyers, insurance professionals, educators, chemists, engineers and scientists.  The Chapter also boasts the first black pharmacist in Oklahoma, the first black PHD graduate from the University of Oklahoma, the youngest Ninth District Representative (Bro. Clarence Wilson, deceased), the first person to successfully sue the government for racial discrimination, the first black professor at the University of Oklahoma; the first black state poet; the first black to have a municipal park named in his honor; the first black Civil Engineer for the State of Oklahoma.  Eta Iota was also instrumental in getting the first post office to be located in an African American neighborhood in Oklahoma City.  Eta Iota Chapter also lost two brothers in the Alfred P. Murrah Building Bombing (Bro. Clarence Wilson and Bro. Larry Turner).

Through the vision, perseverance of the Brothers of the previous 45 years, Eta Iota Chapter purchased its Fraternity House in Northeast Oklahoma City.  The House has become well known throughout the Ninth District where many Brothers from across the country have enjoyed Eta Iota’s famous hospitality. 

The Founding Brothers of Eta Iota Chapter are:
Bro. Thomas Bridges                            Bro. Kermit King                                           Bro. W.T. Hurte
Bro. Havon McLeod, Sr.                        Bro. L.P. Dean                                              Bro. Woodrow Jones
Bro. W. Mitchell Moore                           Bro. Anderson Jenkins                                Bro. Irvin Douglas
Bro. Fred Davis                                     Bro. Cornelius Diggs, Sr.                              Bro. Emmit James
Bro. Ernest Richards                             Bro. Audry Pruitt                                          Bro. L.C. Williams
Bro. James Trotman                              Bro. Alphonzo Taylor                                    Bro. J.D. Faine

Ninth District Positions Held by Eta Iota Chapter Members:
District Representative:  Clarence Wilson
Director of Public Relations:  Glenn Brooks
District Marshal:  Herbert King, Douglas Brown,  Michael Walker
Ninth District Historian:  Thurman White
Ninth District NAACP Chairman:  Douglas Brown
Ninth District PAC Chairman:  Michael Walker
Ninth District Elections Chairman:  Garland Pruitt
State MSP Chairmen:  Douglas Brown, Michael Bray, Carlos Hunter, David Love
State Representatives:  Thurman White, J.P. Rooks, Glenn Brooks, Douglas Brown, Garland Pruitt, Carlos Hunter
Scholarship Chairman:  C. Don Bradley

Oklahoma At Large Representative to District Council:
Douglas Brown
Carlos Hunter
Byran Johnson

Founder of the Ninth District Golf Tournament:  
Herbert King (Tournament named in his honor.)

Our History

​​Eta Iota Chapter of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.

​The Oklahoma City Ques!